Geneviève Almouzni, EU-LIFE chair and honorary director of the Research Center of the Institut Curie, appointed to the ERC Scientific Council

Today, our chair Geneviève Almouzni, Director of the Research Center of the Institut Curie from 2013 to 2018 and honorary director since then, has been appointed member of the Scientific Council of the ERC for a function period of 4 years.

Now in its 12th year, the European Research Council is still one of the most successful achievements of the European Community in Research & Innovation. It is the most important and prestigious funding institution for basic research in any field conducted within the European Union. Excellence is the sole criterion for selection; there are neither thematic priorities, nor geographical or other quotas for funding. To date, the ERC has funded around 9,000 top researchers at various stages of their careers. It offers four core grant schemes: Starting, Consolidator, Advanced and Synergy Grants.

With Isabelle Vernos, group leader at the CRG (Spain) and Giulio Superti-Furga, Scientific Director of the CeMM Research Center for Molecular Medicine of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, there are now three leading scientists of EU-LIFE institutes appointed members of the ERC Scientific Council.

The ERC is governed by the Scientific Council composed of 22 distinguished scientists and scholars representing the European scientific community. Members are nominated by an independent search committee and appointed by the European Commission. Since 2014 Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, a renowned French mathematician, is President of the European Research Council. He will be replace by Professor Mauro Ferrari as of 1 January 2020 at the end of Bourguignon’s current mandate. 

Six eminent scientists and scholars have been appointed by the European Commission and announced today: Professor Mercedes García-Arenal, Professor Eystein Jansen, Professor Jesper Qualmann Svejstrup Professor Gerd Gigerenzer Professor Milena Žic Fuchs and Professor Geneviève Almouzni. At the same time, the European Commission has also renewed the mandates of three current members: Professors Margaret Buckingham and Michael Kramer and Professor Barbara Romanowicz.